TaxBullUK capital gains tax

Does Trading 212 report to HMRC? What your broker sends

No. Trading 212, Freetrade and other UK brokers do not send HMRC a list of your share sales or your gains. Reporting them is your job, and HMRC can still make a broker hand your trades over. Not reported does not mean not taxable.

No HMRC page says "brokers do not report gains" in so many words. The answer rests on what the published reporting rules cover, and none of them covers shares you sell through a UK broker. Crypto platforms are the exception, from 2026.

What the brokers say

The brokers leave the reporting to you. Freetrade's help page says: "We never deduct capital gains tax, it is down to you to declare any capital gains yourself." Vanguard says: "We do not provide a Capital Gains Tax report." Trading 212 says of its annual statement: "You can use this document when you file your tax return." Why its figures are not your gain is in the Trading 212 export guide.

Trading 212 may ask for your National Insurance number. Its help centre says it may report "your tax residency details" under rules such as the Common Reporting Standard (CRS). Under CRS a UK firm reports on customers who live outside the UK, so its CRS report says nothing about a UK resident.

An ISA is different. The provider must send HMRC a return each year with "details of all ISAs" it manages. Gains inside an ISA are not taxed and do not go on your return.

Broker by broker

Which rules apply depends on the firm you deal with. "No" in the table means no published rule requires that firm to report your sales. "On request" means HMRC can make it hand your trades over, which the sections below explain.

PlatformFirm you deal withSends HMRC your sales each year?What HMRC can getSource
Trading 212UK: Trading 212 UK LtdNoYour trades, on requestTrading 212
FreetradeUK: Freetrade LimitedNoYour trades, on requestFreetrade
Interactive BrokersUK: Interactive Brokers (U.K.) Limited, also registered as a cryptoassets firmShares no; crypto yes: sales from 1 January 2026, first report by 31 May 2027Trades on request; crypto sale proceeds under CARFIBKR
Hargreaves LansdownUK: Hargreaves Lansdown Asset Management LimitedNoYour trades, on requestHL
interactive investorUK: Interactive Investor Services LimitedNoYour trades, on requestii
AJ BellUK: AJ Bell Securities LimitedNoYour trades, on requestAJ Bell
VanguardUK: Vanguard Asset Management, LimitedNoYour trades, on requestVanguard terms
Revolut (shares)UK: Revolut Trading LtdNoYour trades, on requestRevolut
Robinhood UKUK: Robinhood U.K. Ltd; shares through a US firm, crypto through Bitstamp UK LtdShares no; crypto yes: sales from 1 January 2026, first report by 31 May 2027Trades on request; FATCA covers US dividends, not sales; crypto sale proceeds under CARFRobinhood
tastytrade through IGUK: IG Markets Limited, shares held by a US firmNoTrades on request; FATCA covers US dividends, not salesIG
eToroUK: eToro (UK) LtdShares no; crypto yes: sales from 1 January 2026, first report by 31 May 2027Trades on request; crypto sale proceeds under CARFeToro
CoinbaseUK: CB Payments LtdCrypto yes: sales from 1 January 2026, first report by 31 May 2027Your crypto sale proceeds under CARFCoinbase terms

Source: each firm's own page, linked in the table and read on 29 September 2026; Schedule 23 to the Finance Act 2011; the US and UK FATCA agreement; HMRC guidance on the Cryptoasset Reporting Framework.

What HMRC receives, and what is coming

Banks and building societies already report the interest they pay. HMRC sends "more than 550 notices" a year to firms that pay interest, covering about 130 million accounts. Dividends are different. In its response of 21 July 2025, the government said HMRC mostly gets no regular dividend data from third parties "unless it is for overseas financial accounts".

The 2025 consultation built on a call for evidence on HMRC's data powers, published on 27 April 2023. The July 2025 response set the next step: interest reported every quarter and card sales every month. HMRC said it would do more work on "the potential collection of dividend and investment data from third parties to inform any future phase of reform". Draft rules published on 20 July 2026 cover interest and card sales only. They are due to come into force on 6 April 2028. Nothing published so far requires a UK broker to report your sales.

The government also looked at extending CRS at home, so that UK firms would report on UK residents too. In its consultation of 26 March 2025 it said it "will not be taking forward" that wholesale extension. Instead it would explore closing the gap for "specific types of financial account" that CRS covers, and those include accounts holding stocks and shares. Its first questions were about dividends and other investment income. The same paper puts it plainly: HMRC "has a fuller picture of UK taxpayer financial accounts held offshore than those held in the UK".

Third-party reporting changes from 27 April 2023 to 6 April 2028: interest, card sales and crypto, and none that makes a UK broker report your share sales27 April 2023Call for evidence on HMRC's powersto collect data from third parties21 July 2025Response: interest quarterly; dividendand investment data for a later phase1 January 2026Crypto platforms start collectingyour details and transactions31 May 2027Deadline for crypto platforms' firstreport, covering 20266 April 2028Interest and card sales reportedwithout a notice (draft rules)None of these makes a UK brokerreport the shares you sell.
Every reporting change so far covers interest, card sales or crypto; none yet makes a UK broker report the shares you sell.

What HMRC can ask your broker for

Your broker keeps a record of every trade, and HMRC has two ways to get it. The first is a data-holder notice under Schedule 23 to the Finance Act 2011. A firm that "effects or is a party to securities transactions" for others is a data-holder. HMRC can require "information and documents relating to securities transactions" (CH28970), reaching back four years. These powers collect information "about a group of people for use in risk analysis" (CH28010).

The second is an information notice under Schedule 36 to the Finance Act 2008, usually used when HMRC is checking one person. For banks and firms that hold investments there is a financial institution notice, which needs no tribunal approval (CH23060). In 2021 HMRC said it used a system called Connect "to identify potential risks of non-compliance".

So a routine report and a notice are different things. A routine report would put your sales in front of HMRC every year. A notice puts them there when HMRC decides to look.

Accounts held abroad

A broker in another CRS country is different. It reports your account to its own tax authority, which passes it to HMRC. For an account holding investments, that includes "the total gross proceeds from the sale or redemption of financial assets". That is what you sold for, not your gain. HMRC received CRS data on "over 11 million financial accounts from 104 jurisdictions" in 2025 to 2026, and compares it "with customers' data".

A US broker works under a separate FATCA agreement. The US sends HMRC interest on a deposit account, "the gross amount of U.S. source dividends" and other US-source income it already reports. There is no line for sale proceeds. Robinhood UK and tastytrade through IG are UK firms, but your trades run through a US firm. Nothing in the agreement sends HMRC what you sold.

Crypto is the exception

Under the Cryptoasset Reporting Framework (CARF), a UK crypto platform collects your details and transactions from 1 January 2026. Its first report covers 2026 and is due between 1 January and 31 May 2027. The UK added its own residents to the rules, so HMRC will get data on every UK taxpayer who uses a UK platform.

When you sell crypto for pounds, the platform reports "the net total amount the user received, after subtracting fees" (IEIM8000530). That is proceeds again, not your gain. You must give each platform your name, date of birth, address and your National Insurance number or UTR. If you give a UK platform wrong details or none, "you could get a penalty of up to £300". A platform that breaks the rules can be charged up to £300 per user. The crypto guide covers how the gains are worked out.

Not reported does not mean not taxable

The tax is owed whether or not anyone tells HMRC. Say you make a £10,000 gain on shares in 2026/27, and your income already fills the basic rate band. After the £3,000 annual exempt amount, £7,000 is taxed at 24%: £1,680. Your broker's silence changes none of that.

If you had to tell HMRC and did not, the penalty for failing to notify is a share of the tax. The share depends on why it happened and on who spoke first.

Why HMRC was not toldYou tell HMRC first (% of the tax)HMRC find it first (% of the tax)
Not deliberate, within 12 months of the tax being due0 to 3010 to 30
Not deliberate, 12 months or more after10 to 3020 to 30
Deliberate20 to 7035 to 70
Deliberate and concealed30 to 10050 to 100

Source: HMRC factsheet CC/FS11, penalties for failure to notify.

Take the £1,680 above. Suppose the failure was not deliberate and HMRC find it 12 months or more after the tax was due. The range is then 20% to 30%, so the penalty is £336 to £504 plus interest. A reasonable excuse for a failure that was not deliberate means no penalty. An offshore matter can take the penalty to 200% of the tax. If you filed a return and left gains off it, the inaccuracy penalties in seven common mistakes apply instead.

What to do now

Download last tax year's export from your broker today and check it against the two reporting tests. That post has the deadlines for both routes to HMRC: a Self Assessment return and the real-time Capital Gains Tax service.

TaxBull's capital gains tax calculator for shares reads a broker export and works out the figures your broker never sends HMRC, down to the SA108 boxes.

Sources

This is general information, not tax advice. The figures here are for 2026/27. Check gov.uk or ask a tax professional about the year you are filing.